Kãinga and pã were evacuated during the Ngãpuhi invasion of 1821, but some families returned in the 1830s. Land sales were made to the crown and early nineteenth century European settlement flourished after a wharf was constructed at the foot of Attwood Road. Early last century it was known for its farms, market gardens and orchards. Passengers and cargo travelled to the city by the launches and small ferries of the period. As a road was built during the 1940s, the area became accessible from the small village of Albany and from then on it began to grow.
With the Government purchasing land in the 1960s to build a maximum security prison on perhaps one of the best farms in the area, the locality became renowned more for the prison than for the beautiful natural area that it is. A village of 130 houses was built to accommodate prison workers.
Artists’ and craftspeople have been attracted to the area over the years as the water views and bush surroundings offer great inspiration.
Today a strong and vibrant community exists in Paremoremo. Using modern day technology the community is well connected and informed; there’s a wide range of activities and events occurring every month. For the locals Paremoremo is more fondly referred to as “Pare”.